Dr. Verestóy Attila Foundation

"Giving is the best communication"

„I can define in one single word how the scholarship helped me: survival.”

torok_adel

My name is Kertész Norbert andcurrently I am a first year student at the Faculty of Medicine ofthe University of Medicine and Pharmacy in TârguMureș. I am 18 years old and in the next six years I am going to live in Târgu Mureș.When I am at home in OdorheiuSecuiesc I am living with my mother.

What do you like to do in your free time?
I really like to do sports, usually; when I have the possibility I go running, play football or bike. For preparing to the university I tried to cook but it wasn’t a great success. Fortunately nothing exploded.

What are your future plans? In your introduction you wrote that you would like to study in Hungary, but it has changed, why?
My current most important object is to graduate from the University. I will have difficult years, so I have to work hard. Yes, I would like to study in Hungary, but many things have come up. First of all, my preparatory teacher had got sick before we started the preparation. In addition, the structure of the school year was changed unexpectedly and I had only one possibility. I could only have started my studies in Hungary if I had had an early graduation from secondary school. In this situation my diffidence played a role, because I didn’t dare to risk the graduation with months earlier than normally, because I didn’t think that I’m preparing duly. Furthermore, my financial opportunities are limited and here I can finish the university cheaper. So I took a university entrance exam successfully in Târgu Mureș.

And why a doctor? This profession is really stressful and needs great responsibility and ability to concentrate.
I decided long time ago in the elementary school that I would like to be a doctor. I would like to take my life on helping (and it hasn’t changed so far), to make others’ life better and help everyone, whom I just can.That is why I chose this job. I’ve always loved learning, and slowly it became obvious, that this is the best profession for me. After my parents had divorced and my brothers and I remained with my mother, our life wasn’t easy, and without other people’s help we wouldn’t survive. Although in the news we hear just bad things about humans, I saw the good in every people I met and think we have to cultivate this goodness, and the only way for this is to helping others. So the reason I would like to be a doctor is to do more good.

What does volunteering mean for you?You wrote that helping others took an important part in your life.
As I mentioned, it’s important for me to do good for other people. To do good selflessly is the most wonderful thing in the world. It’s an uplifting feeling when you help selflessly to somebody, and you see this person’s smiley. The fact that I did something good and didn’t get back anything just pure happinessmakes me happy.

 
How did the scholarship help you?
I can define in one single word how the scholarship helped me: in survival. My mother raised my two younger brothers and mealone. I think it’s possible to imagine without difficulty that my family wasn’t in an easy situation. Because of the scholarship I could leisurely continue my secondary school studies, which ended with a successful graduation and matriculation.

What is your message to the Foundation?
My message for the Foundation is: continue this wonderful work for a very long time, because unfortunately I’m not the only person who needs financial support to continue the studies and reach his/her dreams. I’m thankful for all of the foundation’s help. 

„When I wear it always makes me proud, because it’s invented for us, seklers. This attire is much more, than a simple clothing that was placed in market for money, because it has meaning, our sekler attitude appears in it.”

torok_adel

My name is Kalapács Izabella. I live in Zetelaka, I have been studying philology at Tamási Áron Gymnasium for 3 years. I have an elder sister. :)

What do you like to do in your free time?
As I mentioned I study philology, therefore in my free time I deal readily with language learning. Beside this I really like to read and I’ve been folk-dancing for 9 years. When I have time I ride a bike in the nature. 

You do like the Sekler clothing, the folk-dancing and the traditions. Would you talk about this? 
Yes. I always wear the traditional costume with pleasure, as a precious treasure. I’m always proud when I wear it always makes me proud, because it’s invented for us, seklers. This costume is more than a simple cloth, that was made for the money, because it has significance, our sekler being appears in it.

I am asking the big question: “What will you be, when you grow up?” What are your plans regarding your further education?
After the 12. class normally I want to graduate. I don’t have exact plans, but anyway I would like to learn languages. I’m really interested is event organization, but I would try out myself in turism, as a guide.

How can the scholarship help you?
This year I applied for the second time. The scholarship makes easier not only my present, but my future, too. It helps me to overcome the difficulties on the way to my dreams. It helps to take advantage of all the opportunities.

What is your message to the foundation?
Firstly, I’d like to say thank you for the support. Thank you, that you make my school years more beautiful, and thank you for your encouragement, that with ambition we can reach anything in life. Thank you for proving that there are also helpful and right-minded people. Thank you for your trust. Thank you for the care.
I wish you a lot of power and endurance in continuing this titled job. God help in your task.

„I like being on my own and creating something new excluding the world.”

torok_adel

I’m Éva Simon. I live in Sândominic with my parents and two siblings of mine. I didn’t spend most of the school time at home since I went to the Segítő Mária High school in Miercurea Ciuc and I came home only in the weekend. This part of my life is over and now another one is beginning. I had done the A levels successfully and I got into the desired university. I look forward to starting this academic year, to meeting new people andexperiencing the new environment.

What’s your hobby? What do you like to do in your spare time?

I gladly read world literature and make little creative things that tax my patience, too. I like being on my own and creating something new excluding the world. Unfortunately I haven’t had much free-time lately. Because of the preparation for A levels and then the admission to university, all the leisure activities faded into the background.

What are your plans for the future? Where would you like to study?

As I mentioned earlier, I got into the university that I wanted. That is horticultural engineering at the Sapientia University of Târgu Mureș. I’m excited about starting.

How has our foundation, the scholarship helped you?

Thanks to the foundation I could stay in dorm. It unburdened my parents from the costs of the dorm and it made possible for me to study in silence.

Your message for the foundation

I would like to thank the foundation for supporting my family for several years and I hope that they will be able to help many other children living in similar situation like me in the future, as well.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.